Sunday, May 18, 2014

Mini Review: All My Restless Life to Live

ISBN: 0615776795
Pages: 306
Source: Xpresso Book Tours

Fans of Marian Keyes and Jennifer Weiner will delight in Dee DeTarsio’s sparkling prose and lively dialogue as she takes readers into the heart of women’s lives.
Life is a soap opera, especially for Elle Miller, who writes for one. (Ellen dropped the “n” in her name in hopes of finding a better ending for herself.) When her laptop crashes, she borrows her recently deceased dad’s computer and gets way more than she bargained for. 
Elle unravels mysterious communications from his computer, while her mom decides to give Internet dating a try. As Elle tries to save her career at I’d Rather Be Loved with a storyline featuring a trip through Atlantis, she takes a trip to the Emmys, and finds herself in the middle of a romance between a real doctor and a hunk who just plays one on TV. 
Friends, family, and clues from “the other side” all help Elle figure out the difference between living the good life and living a good life. 
Filled with friendship, love, loss, betrayal, and challenges that force her characters to find their place in the universe, Dee’s novels give us that hopefully-ever-after we're searching for.

Hey everyone! Welcome back, today I've got a review of All My Restless Life to Live by Dee DeTarsio! :)

Elle Miller has quite an interesting life. After her dad died, she and her mom just don't get a long. Then, her computer crashes and in a desperate attempt to save her life and job, she "borrows" her deceased father's computer and finds out that some ghostly version of him is still hanging around. 

From the start, I was really confused on the difference between Elle's actual life and the life that is occurring in the soap opera that she is writing. Everything just seemed to mash together, it might have been the edition that I was reading it, but since this was published in 2013, I don't think that the formatting would be all weirded up. In addition to that, there was the somewhat existent love triangle? Elle started the story all in love with Brad, an actor that plays in the soap opera she writes. Then her dad's computer speaks and she freaks out and ends up in the hospital where she meets this bizarrely handsome man named Quez Shirrock. For me at the current moment, this was a tad bit too much drama for me. Normally, I can handle pretty high quantities of drama, but this book had a bit too much. Other than that, I definitely think the story is really cute and interesting. 
2.5/5 stars

Foreverly Obsessed,

1 comment:

  1. Dear Rivalle, Thanks so much for reading and reviewing All My Restless Life to Live! I'm sorry you didn't quite connect with it, but I appreciate your feedback! Thanks again and take care,